top of page

Orion in the spot light

The greatest moment this Septembre was my first view ever of the Orion Nebula. Not only was it visually great to look at in the eyepeice, but I could not beleive my eyes when I took a picture of it. Orion is the only nebula I have yet to see where some of the colors can actually be seen with the naked eye.

Lets first look at The Orion Constellation. In the original picture 6000 x 4000 The Orion Nebula is clearly visible in his scabbard.To see a higher resolution image please click on the image(in the new window click on the image to enlarge).

If we take a closer look through the telescope we see The Orion Nebula. Below is an unedited 30 second exposer of the nebula.To see a higher resolution image please click on the image(in the new window click on the image to enlarge).

Lastly I tried to edit the picture in photoshop to try to bring out more of the cloud structure, however I am not sure I like the edited version as much as the one above. To see a higher resolution image please click on the image(in the new window click on the image to enlarge).

While I have done quite alot of observing this month that's all the time I have for this month.

Cheers and clear skies.

-Mark

bottom of page