top of page

The moon

The moon looks awesome through the telescope, so much detail can be seen. The Moon, our moon, is one of the largest natural satellites in the Solar System. At a distance that ranges from 362 600 km at perigee to 405 400 km at apogee. I spent hours staring at different locations. At 81 times magnification the Moon fits perfectly into the field of view of the telescope and the whole thing, with striking detail can be seen. At 225.7 times magnification you can really zoom in to look at specific craters and other such locations. I plan to pick up a moon map to learn more about the location and names of the craters, mares, and other such detail.

Update, Sept 23rd 2015: I replaced the photo of the moon that I had found on the internet with the one below which is a picture I took on August 27th 2015, one day before full moon. For a high definition view click the image below(in the new window click the image to enlarge).

bottom of page